OUR STORY...

Barachois Summer Music is one of the pillars of south-eastern New Brunswick’s artistic environment. Founded 35 years ago, year after year, the event presents classical music concerts of the highest level in the enchanting setting of the Barachois Historic Church, a heritage site erected in 1824. To date, more than 250 concerts have taken place within the walls of this Acadian cultural treasure, in the Viola-Léger hall, allowing the public to discover and appreciate brilliant musicians from here and abroad in a warm atmosphere and incomparable acoustics. 

 

Over the years, thanks to the series, the Barachois Historic Church has been privileged to host musicians of an international calibre such as the Alcan Quartet, the Arthur-LeBlanc Quartet, Stéphane Beaulac, Luc Beauséjour, Daniel Bolshoy, Leslie-Ann Bradley, Dominique Côté, Lorraine Desmarais, Chantal Dionne, Denise Djokic, Marc Djokic, Jonathan Estabrooks, the Hochelaga Trio, David Jalbert, the John Roney Trio, Miriam Khalil, Marianne Lambert, Renée Lapointe, Vincent Lauzer, Suzie LeBlanc, Suzanne Lemieux, Marie-Josée Lord, Roger Lord, Nathalie Paulin, Richard Raymond, the Wanderer Trio, Jasper Wood and Brian Yoon.

Eager to promote emerging talents, the series has also served as a stepping stone for a number of young Acadian and New Brunswick artists, allowing them to experience some of their first performances on a professional stage. Notable names among this group include Christianne Bélanger, Jaeyoung Chong, Terri Croft, Alain and Patrick Gaudet, Carl Philippe Gionet, Julien LeBlanc, Carol Léger, Dion Mazerolle, Lance Ouellette and the Phi brothers.

 

Barachois Summer Music is now one of Atlantic Canada’s most important musical events. Its concerts have often been recorded and broadcast on Radio-Canada and Espace musique. In 2014, the series received the Event of the Year Éloize in recognition of its 31st and 32nd seasons, Twilight Dreams and A Fresh, Blazing Summer. Emboldened by this success, the event hopes to keep growing and evolving, always striving to nourish the region’s cultural life.

ARTISTIC DIRECTORS

Julien LeBlanc

A virtuoso whose enthusiasm is genuinely contagious, Canadian pianist Julien LeBlanc is renowned for his great musical sensibility and his talent as a communicator. Based in Montreal, Julien is a well sought-after soloist, chamber player and accompanist.
His remarkable qualities as a pianist, coupled with his innate musical sense, have allowed him to master the solo repertoire with distinctive flair. His CD entitled Mélancolies is dedicated to the works of Dutilleux, Franck, and Poulenc. The Rutland Herald praised his interpretation of this repertoire, stressing that he played “with warmth, clarity and flowing lyricism, all with a natural sense of rhythm".

Julien has recorded a striking trio of CDs. It includes two discs with the Trio Arkaède: Tour de France, and a second album devoted to little-known French compositions. As well, he has recorded a disc of French and Spanish songs with soprano Marianne Lambert, which was released in 2020 under the Fidelio label.

Since 2012, Julien has been Co-Artistic Director of the Barachois Summer Music concert series in New Brunswick. He has taken part in many concert tours across Canada for Jeunesses Musicales du Canada and Debut Atlantic. He is a part-time teacher at the University of Ottawa. He has given master classes in several universities across Canada and is frequently asked to sit on juries for music competitions.

www.julienleblanc.com

 

Pierre-André Doucet

Pierre-André Doucet.jpg

Renowned for his vivid soundscapes and the musicality inherent to his texts, pianist and writer Pierre-André Doucet is a leading voice among Canada’s newest generation of artists.

He has been hailed for “the emotion of his playing and his impeccable control” (Audiophilia), and was recognized by CBC Radio 2 as one of the best Canadian classical musicians under 30 (2015). Recently, he has performed in Canada, Austria, France, Germany, Spain, South Africa, and the United States, as well as across Asia, Central America, Europe and the South Pacific as one of the inaugural Lincoln Center Stage artists aboard Holland America Line ships. Several of his performances have been broadcast on Radio-Canada, CBC Radio and NPR.

Winner of the Knigge Music Competition, as well as the Eckhardt-Gramatté National Music Competition (with soprano Alexandra Smither), Mr. Doucet has also been awarded top prizes for his performances of contemporary works, namely at the Prix d’Europe, and the Ibiza International Piano Competition. He holds a doctoral degree in piano performance from l’Université de Montréal, where he studied with Maneli Pirzadeh, and where he has also been a visiting professor. Further, he has benefited from masterclasses at the Toronto Summer Music Academy, Franz-Schubert-Institut, the Gijón International Piano Festival, Songfest, the Music Academy of the West, and the Tanglewood Music Center with such luminaries as Elly Ameling, Julius Drake, Margo Garrett, Marilyn Horne, Graham Johnson, Warren Jones, Kiri Te Kanawa, Martin Katz, Robert MacDonald, Dawn Upshaw and Roger Vignoles.

A prize-winning writer, Mr. Doucet is the author of Sorta comme si on était déjà là (Prix Éloizes in the Discovery of the Year category, 2014) and Des dick pics sous les étoiles, both published by Éditions Prise de parole. He was recently named Interim Executive Director of the Frye Festival, Atlantic Canada’s largest literary event. Alongside pianist Julien LeBlanc, he has also been Co-Artistic Director of Barachois Summer Music since 2012.

www.pierreandredoucet.com

HISTORIQUE

L’Été musical de Barachois est un des piliers du milieu artistique du sud-est du Nouveau-Brunswick. Créé il y a 35 ans, l’événement permet, année après année, de présenter des concerts de musique classique du plus haut niveau dans le cadre enchanteur de l’Église historique de Barachois, un lieu patrimonial érigé en 1824. À date, plus de 250 concerts ont été donnés dans l’enceinte de ce joyau culturel acadien, la salle Viola-Léger, permettant au public de découvrir et d’apprécier des musiciens brillants d’ici et d’ailleurs dans une atmosphère chaleureuse et une acoustique incomparable.

 

Au fil des années, par l’entremise de l’Été musical, l’Église historique de Barachois a eu l’occasion d’accueillir des musiciens de calibre international tels que le Quatuor Alcan, le Quatuor Arthur-LeBlanc, Stéphane Beaulac, Luc Beauséjour, Daniel Bolshoy, Leslie-Ann Bradley, Dominique Côté, Lorraine Desmarais, Chantal Dionne, Denise Djokic, Marc Djokic, Jonathan Estabrooks, Trio Hochelaga, David Jalbert, le John Roney Trio, Miriam Khalil, Marianne Lambert, Renée Lapointe, Vincent Lauzer, Suzie LeBlanc, Suzanne Lemieux, Marie-Josée Lord, Roger Lord, Nathalie Paulin, Richard Raymond, le Trio Wanderer, Jasper Wood et Brian Yoon.

Fier de promouvoir la relève musicale, la série a également permis à de nombreux jeunes artistes acadiens et néo-brunswickois de faire leurs premières armes sur une scène professionnelle. Ce fut le cas notamment pour Christianne Bélanger, Jaeyoung Chong, Terri Croft, Alain et Patrick Gaudet, Carl Philippe Gionet, Julien LeBlanc, Carol Léger, Dion Mazerolle, Lance Ouellette et les frères Phi.

 

L’Été musical de Barachois est désormais un événement incontournable de la scène musicale en Atlantique. Par ailleurs, ses concerts ont souvent été enregistrés et diffusés sur les ondes de Radio-Canada et d’Espace Musique. En 2014, l’Été musical a été récipiendaire d’un prix Éloize dans la catégorie Événement de l’année pour ses 31e et 32e saisons, Rêveries vespérales et Fougue et fraîcheur estivales. Fort de ce succès, l’événement espère poursuivre sa croissance et son évolution, toujours dans le but de nourrir la vie culturelle de la région

DIRECTION ARTISTIQUE

Julien LeBlanc

Virtuose à l'enthousiasme contagieux, le pianiste canadien Julien LeBlanc est reconnu pour sa grande sensibilité musicale et ses dons de communicateur. Basé à Montréal, il est très actif sur la scène musicale canadienne comme soliste, chambriste et accompagnateur.
Ses qualités pianistiques remarquables et son sens musical inné lui permettent d’aborder le répertoire solo avec panache. Enregistré sous étiquette Leaf Music en 2015, son album Mélancolies est dédié aux œuvres de Dutilleux, Franck et Poulenc. Le Rutland Herald acclame son interprétation de ce répertoire en soulignant qu'il « joue avec chaleur, clarté et un lyrisme fluide, le tout avec un sens du rythme naturel. »

Il est invité à graver une discographie éclatante comprenant deux disques au sein du Trio Arkaède, dont Tour de France, un disque consacré aux œuvres françaises méconnues, ainsi qu'un disque de mélodies françaises et espagnoles avec la soprano Marianne Lambert, paru en 2020 sous étiquette Fidelio.

Depuis 2012, Julien LeBlanc partage la direction artistique de l’Été musical de Barachois, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Il a participé à plusieurs tournées au Canada pour les Jeunesses Musicales du Canada et Début Atlantique.

Julien LeBlanc est chargé de cours à l’Université d’Ottawa. Il a donné plusieurs cours de maître un peu partout au Canada et est régulièrement invité pour siéger sur les jurys de concours de musique.

www.julienleblanc.com

 

Pierre-André Doucet

Pierre-André Doucet.jpg

Reconnu pour la vivacité de ses paysages sonores et la musicalité de ses textes, le pianiste et écrivain Pierre-André Doucet est l’une des principales voix de la nouvelle génération d’artistes canadiens.

Il a été salué pour « l’émotion de son jeu et son contrôle impeccable » (Audiophilia), et a été nommé par CBC Radio 2 comme étant l’un des meilleurs musiciens canadiens sous l’âge de 30 ans (2015). Il s’est produit au Canada, en Afrique du Sud, en Allemagne, en Autriche, en Espagne, aux États-Unis et en France, ainsi qu’un peu partout en Asie, en Amérique centrale, en Europe et dans le Pacifique Sud en tant qu’artiste de Lincoln Center Stage, à bord de navires de Holland America Line. Plusieurs de ses prestations ont été diffusées sur les ondes de Radio-Canada, CBC Radio et NPR.

Gagnant du Concours de musique Knigge, ainsi que du Concours de musique national Eckhardt-Gramatté (avec la soprano Alexandra Smither), M. Doucet a aussi été récompensé pour ses performances de musique contemporaine, notamment au Prix d’Europe et au Concours de piano international d’Ibiza. Il détient un doctorat en interprétation du piano de l’Université de Montréal, où il a étudié avec Maneli Pirzadeh, et où il a également été professeur invité. De plus, il a bénéficié de classes de maitres à la Toronto Summer Music Academy, au Franz-Schubert-Institut, au Festival de piano international de Gijón, à Songfest, à la Music Academy of the West, et au Tanglewood Music Center, auprès de sommités telles Elly Ameling, Julius Drake, Margo Garrett, Marilyn Horne, Graham Johnson, Warren Jones, Kiri Te Kanawa, Martin Katz, Robert MacDonald, Dawn Upshaw et Roger Vignoles.

Écrivain primé, M. Doucet est l'auteur de Sorta comme si on était déjà là (Prix Éloize dans la catégorie Découverte de l'année en 2014) et Des dick pics sous les étoiles, tous deux parus aux Éditions Prise de parole. Il a récemment été nommé directeur général par intérim du Festival Frye, le plus grand événement littéraire au Canada atlantique. Aux côtés du pianiste Julien LeBlanc, il est aussi co-directeur artistique de l’Été musical de Barachois depuis 2012.

www.pierreandredoucet.com