ÉTÉ MUSICAL DE

BARACHOIS

SUMMER MUSIC

ÉTÉ MUSICAL DE

BARACHOIS

SUMMER MUSIC

2020

Celebrating our 40th anniversary with
Charles Richard-Hamelin
Opening concert of the 40th season
Thursday July 2, 2020
7 p.m.
Barachois Historical Church
1380 NB-133, Grand-Barachois, NB, E4P 8G7
Charles Richard-Hamelin
piano

Silver medalist and laureate of the Krystian Zimerman Prize at the 2015 International Chopin Piano Competition in Warsaw, Canadian pianist Charles Richard-Hamelin is standing out today as one of the most important musicians of his generation. In 2014, he also won the second prize at the Montreal International Musical Competition and the third prize at the Seoul International Music Competition in South Korea. Charles is the recipient of the Order of Arts and Letters of Quebec and the prestigious Career Development Award offered by the Women’s Musical Club of Toronto.

     He has appeared in various prestigious festivals including La Roque d’Anthéron in France, the Prague Spring Festival, the “Chopin and his Europe” Festival in Warsaw and the Lanaudière Festival in Canada. As a soloist, he has performed with more than fifty ensembles including the main symphony orchestras of Canada (Montreal, Toronto, Ottawa, Métropolitain, Québec, Edmonton, Calgary…) as well as with the Warsaw Philharmonic, Sinfonia Varsovia, Singapore Symphony Orchestra, the Korean Symphony Orchestra, OFUNAM (Mexico), les Violons du Roy and I Musici de Montréal. He has played under the baton of renowned conductors such as Kent Nagano, Antoni Wit, Vasily Petrenko, Jacek Kaspszyk, Aziz Shokhakimov, Peter Oundjian, Jacques Lacombe, Fabien Gabel, Carlo Rizzi, Alexander Prior, Giancarlo Guerrero, Christoph Campestrini, Lan Shui and Jean-Marie Zeitouni. Charles Richard-Hamelin is a graduate from McGill University, the Yale School of Music, the Conservatoire de Musique de Montréal and has studied with Paul Surdulescu, Sara Laimon, Boris Berman, André Laplante et Jean Saulnier.

     His first solo recording, which features late works by Chopin, was released in September 2015 on the Analekta label and received widespread acclaim from critics throughout the world (Diapason, BBC Music Magazine, Le Devoir) as well as a Felix Award (ADISQ). A second album, recorded live at the Palais Montcalm in Quebec City with music by Beethoven, Enescu and Chopin, was released in the fall of 2016 and also had a very positive welcome (Gramophone, La Presse, The WholeNote). The first volume of the complete Beethoven violin sonatas with Andrew Wan was released in the fall of 2018 and his next projects include both Chopin Concertos with the Montreal Symphony Orchestra and Maestro Kent Nagano.

PROGRAM

 

Chopin - Nocturne op. 32 no. 1 en si majeur

 

Chopin - Sonate no. 3 op. 58 en si mineur

I. Allegro maestoso

II. Scherzo: Molto vivace

III. Largo

IV. Finale: Presto non tanto

 

— Pause —

 

Chopin - Préludes op. 28

No. 1 in C major. Agitato

        No. 2 in A minor. Lento

No. 3 in G major. Vivace 

No. 4 in E minor. Largo 

No. 5 in D major. Allegro molto

No. 6 in B minor. Lento assai

No. 7 in A major. Andantino

No. 8 in F sharp minor. Molto agitato

No. 9 in E major. Largo

        No. 10 in C sharp minor. Allegro molto

No. 11 in B major. Vivace

No. 12 in G sharp minor. Presto

No. 13 in F sharp major. Lento

No. 14 in E flat minor. Allegro

No. 15 in D flat major. Sostenuto 

No. 16 in B flat minor. Presto con fuoco 

No. 17 in A flat major. Allegretto

No. 18 in F minor. Allegro molto

No. 19 in E flat major. Vivace

No. 20 in C minor. Largo

No. 21 in B flat major. Cantabile

No. 22 in G minor. Molto agitato

No. 23 in F major. Moderato

No. 24 in D minor. Allegro appassionato

PARTENAIRES

Subscribe for updates

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

© 2019. Été musical de Barachois. All rights reserved.

ÉTÉ MUSICAL DE

BARACHOIS

SUMMER MUSIC

ÉTÉ MUSICAL DE

BARACHOIS

SUMMER MUSIC

2020

Célébrons 40 ans avec
Charles Richard-Hamelin
 
Concert d'ouverture de la 40e saison
Le jeudi 2 juillet 2020
19 h
Église historique de Barachois
1380 NB-133, Grand-Barachois, NB, E4P 8G7
Charles Richard-Hamelin
piano

Lauréat de la médaille d’argent et du prix Krystian Zimerman lors du Concours International de Piano Frédéric-Chopin à Varsovie en 2015, le pianiste canadien Charles Richard-Hamelin se démarque aujourd’hui comme l’un des plus importants de sa génération. Il s’est aussi fait remarquer à l’échelle internationale en 2014 en recevant le deuxième prix au Concours Musical International de Montréal ainsi que le troisième prix au Seoul International Music Competition. Charles Richard-Hamelin a été récipiendaire de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres du Québec et du prestigieux Career Development Award offert par le Women’s Musical Club of Toronto.

Il a été l’invité de plusieurs grands festivals tels La Roque d’Anthéron en France, le Festival du Printemps de Prague, le Festival « Chopin et son Europe » à Varsovie et le Festival de Lanaudière. En tant que soliste, il a pu se faire entendre avec une cinquantaine d’ensembles dont les principaux orchestres symphonique canadiens (Montréal, Toronto, Ottawa, Métropolitain, Québec, Edmonton, Calgary...) ainsi qu’avec l’Orchestre Philharmonique de Varsovie, Sinfonia Varsovia, le Tokyo Metropolitan Symphony Orchestra, l’Orchestre Symphonique de Singapour, le Korean Symphony Orchestra, l’OFUNAM (Mexique), les Violons du Roy et I Musici de Montréal. Il a collaboré avec des chefs de grande renommée comme Kent Nagano, Antoni Wit, Vasily Petrenko, Jacek Kaspszyk, Aziz Shokhakimov, Peter Oundjian, Jacques Lacombe, Fabien Gabel, Carlo Rizzi, Alexander Prior, Giancarlo Guerrero, Christoph Campestrini, Lan Shui et Jean-Marie Zeitouni. Diplômé de l’Université McGill, de la Yale School of Music et du Conservatoire de Musique de Montréal, il a étudié auprès de Paul Surdulescu, Sara Laimon, Boris Berman, André Laplante et Jean Saulnier.

Gagnant de plusieurs Prix Opus et Prix Félix, Charles Richard-Hamelin enregistre depuis 2015 exclusivement sous l’étiquette Analekta. Son premier disque solo, consacré aux dernières œuvres de Chopin, a reçu l’éloge de critiques à travers le monde (Diapason, BBC Music Magazine). Son second album, enregistré en concert à Québec et comportant des œuvres de Beethoven, Enescu et Chopin, a été reçu très chaleureusement depuis son lancement à l’automne 2016, notamment par le prestigieux magazine Gramophone. Paru à l’automne 2018, le premier volume de l’intégrale des sonates pour piano et violon de Beethoven avec Andrew Wan, premier violon de l’OSM, est également encensé par la critique (Le Devoir, Radio-Canada). Ses prochains projets discographiques incluent les deux concertos de Chopin avec l’Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal et Kent Nagano. 

PROGRAMME

Chopin - Nocturne op. 32 no. 1 en si majeur

 

Chopin - Sonate no. 3 op. 58 en si mineur

I. Allegro maestoso

II. Scherzo: Molto vivace

III. Largo

IV. Finale: Presto non tanto

 

— Pause —

 

Chopin - Préludes op. 28

No. 1 in C major. Agitato

        No. 2 in A minor. Lento

No. 3 in G major. Vivace 

No. 4 in E minor. Largo 

No. 5 in D major. Allegro molto

No. 6 in B minor. Lento assai

No. 7 in A major. Andantino

No. 8 in F sharp minor. Molto agitato

No. 9 in E major. Largo

        No. 10 in C sharp minor. Allegro molto

No. 11 in B major. Vivace

No. 12 in G sharp minor. Presto

No. 13 in F sharp major. Lento

No. 14 in E flat minor. Allegro

No. 15 in D flat major. Sostenuto 

No. 16 in B flat minor. Presto con fuoco 

No. 17 in A flat major. Allegretto

No. 18 in F minor. Allegro molto

No. 19 in E flat major. Vivace

No. 20 in C minor. Largo

No. 21 in B flat major. Cantabile

No. 22 in G minor. Molto agitato

No. 23 in F major. Moderato

No. 24 in D minor. Allegro appassionato

PARTENAIRES

Inscription infolettre 

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

© 2020. Été musical de Barachois. Tous droits réservés.