ÉTÉ MUSICAL DE

BARACHOIS

SUMMER MUSIC

Monica Whicher
soprano

Style and musical elegance combined with an intuitive theatrical sense are the hallmarks of soprano Monica Whicher’s performances on the concert and opera stage. She has performed with orchestras, opera companies and at chamber festivals across Canada, the United States, Mexico, Europe and Asia with conductors including Helmuth Rilling, Peter Oundjian, Jukka-Pekka Saraste, Franz Paul Decker, Steuart Bedford, Yannick Nezet-Seguin, Duane Wolff, Pinchas Zuckerman, Trevor Pinnick, Hervé Niquet, Andrew Parrott, Harry Bicket, Timothy Vernon and Alexander Weimann. 

Ms. Whicher was nominated for a Juno Award for “Singing Somers Theatre” (Centrediscs) and two Dora Mavor Moore Awards. Critically acclaimed for her portrayals of Mérope in Lully’s Persée (DVD) and Telaïre in Rameau’s Castor et Pollux (both Naxos), she is also featured on the Juno-Award winning CDs Mozart’s Magic Fantasy, Beethoven Lives Upstairs and Daydreams and Lullabies. Other recordings include Lullabies and Carols for Christmas, with harpist Judy Loman (Naxos), Hatzis’ Erotikos Logos (Marquis), and Centrediscs recently released, Juno-nominated Breathe: Music for Voices and Early Instruments by James Rolfe. Monica appears on The Art Songs of Mykola Lysenko, The Art Songs of Yakov Stepovyi, and The Galicians l and ll, all for the Ukrainian Art Song Project.

A former member of the Canadian Opera Company Ensemble Studio, Ms. Whicher studied at the Banff School of Fine Arts, the Britten-Pears School of Music, and the Steans Institute, and was a recipient of the George London Award, Sullivan Foundation Grants, and a Canada Council Career Development Grant.  She is a graduate of the University of Toronto, where she studied with renowned Canadian soprano, Lois Marshall. 

Monica Whicher is a Lecturer in Voice at the University of Toronto and is on the Voice Faculty of the Glenn Gould School of the Royal Conservatory of Music.

Subscribe for updates

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

© 2019. Été musical de Barachois. All rights reserved.

ÉTÉ MUSICAL DE

BARACHOIS

SUMMER MUSIC

Monica Whicher
soprano

Monica Whicher est reconnue pour son élégance musicale et son sens théâtral intuitif tant en concert qu'à l'opéra. Elle a chanté avec plusieurs orchestres, maisons d'opéra et festivals de musique de chambre au Canada, aux États-Unis, au Mexique, en Europe et en Asie avec des chefs reconnus tels Helmuth Rilling, Peter Qundjian, Jukka-Pekka Saraste, Franz Paul Decker, Steuart Bedford, Yannick Nézet-Séguin, Duane Wolff, Pinchas Zuckerman, Trevor Pinnick, Hervé Niquet, Andrew Parrott, Harry Bicket, Timothy Vernon et Alexander Weimann. 

Madame Whicher a été en nomination pour un prix Juno pour "Singing Somers Theatre" (Centrediscs) et pour deux prix Dora Mavor Moore. Acclamée par la critique pour son interprétation de Mérope dans Persée de Lully (DVD) et Telaïre dans Castor et Pollux de Rameau (Naxos), elle a aussi participé aux enregistrements "Mozart's Magic Fantasy", "Beethoven Lives Upstairs" et "Daydreams and Lullabies", tous récipiendaires de prix Juno. Ses autres enregistrements incluent "Lullabies and Carols for Christmas" avec la harpiste Judy Loman (Naxos), "Erotikos Lagos" de Hatzis (Marquis), et un disque récemment paru et nominé pour un prix Juno "Breathe: Music for Voices and Early Instruments by James Rolfe".  La soprano apparaît également sur "The Art Songs of Mykola Lysenko", "The Art Songs of Yakov Stepovyi", et "The Galicians I & II" pour le Ukrainian Art Song Project. 

Monica Whicher fût membre de l'Ensemble studio du Canadian Opera Company. Elle a étudié au Banff School of Fine Arts, au Britten-Pears School of Music, et au Steans Institute, en plus d'être récipiendaire du George London Award, du Sullivan Foundation Grants, et du Canada Council Career Development Grant. Madame Whicher est diplômée de l'Université de Toronto, où elle a étudié avec la célèbre soprano canadienne Lois Marshall.

Monica Whicher est Lecturer in Voice à l'Université de Toronto et est membre du corps professoral du Glenn Gould School du Royal Conservatory of Music.

Inscription infolettre 

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

© 2019. Été musical de Barachois. Tous droits réservés.