ÉTÉ MUSICAL DE

BARACHOIS

SUMMER MUSIC

With the Rythm of the Wind. . .
The artists
Michel Deschênes
percussions
 

Percussionist M. Ed. B. Mus in Performance. Percussion teacher at Université de Moncton. 

Born in Caraquet (NB), Michel Deschênes is a founding member of the percussion quartet Amerythmeformed in 1989.

He has done numerous recordings and tours across Canada, France, Belgium and Morocco.

Michel is the latest recipient of the New Brunswick Youth Orchestra's Lieutenant Governor's Award. He has been heard and seen frequently on television for CBC (East Coast Music Awards television show), Radio-Canada and TV5. He has played on all the major scenes across the country, such as the Festival International de Jazz de Montréal, the Canada Day in Ottawa and the Festival d'été de Québec, just to name a few. Michel is the leader of the Escola de Samba Acadia, a group of percussionists who plays Brasilian style Street Samba and who is available for parades of special events. One of Michel's latest project is a trio called Sambucca with Sally Wright (flute) and Steven Peacock (guitar). 

Jocelyn Blanchette
percussions
 

Percussionist Jocelyn Blanchette is a 4th year performance student at the Université de Moncton, where he works with Michel Deschênes. He is the percussion section chair in the New Brunswick Youth Orchestra, and was the winner of this ensemble's Concerto competition 2016-2017. That same year, he won the "Artist of the Year" distinction at the Université de Moncton's Bleu et Or Gala. He has taken part in the Encuentros CDMX in Mexico City, where he performed in masterclasses for Mexican composer Arturo Marquez and for Gustavo dudamel, the conductor of the Los Angeles Philharmonic. Last summer, he was the only Canadian among the semi-finalists of an international competition in Melbourne, Australia.

 
Nokomi Ouellet
percussions

From Baker Lake (NB), Nokomi Ouellet started drumming lessons when she was 8 years old. She took part in many shows as a drummer before starting her Bachelor degree in percussion at the Université de Moncton. She has played with the Haut Saint-Jean Philharmonic Orchestra as well as being first percussionist with the New Brunswick Youth Orchestra for the 2015-2016 season. She has participated in many projects including the Éloize Gala, as well as a mini tour with the New Brunswick Jeunesses musicales. She After graduating from the Bachelor degree, Nokomi plans to pursue a Masters degree in instrumental pedagogy at the Université Laval in Québec City. 

 
Joel Cormier
percussions

Joel first studied at the Université de Moncton where he finished his Bachelor degree in Music Performance. He then studied percussion at the University of Toronto, where he finished his Masters in Music Performance and his Doctorate in Musical Arts.

Joel is an experienced orchestral percussionist having played with the Kingston Symphony, the Toronto Philharmonic Orchestra, the Brampton Symphony, the Esprit Orchestra, and more recently with the Symphony New Brunswick and Tutta Musica. he also collaborates on many new music projects and especially enjoys experimental music. 

M. Cormier released his first solo percussion CD, "Les voiles blanches" in 2012. The album features two well known New Brunswick composers: Richard Gibson and Christian Hébert.

Along with teaching percussion at Mount Allison, Joel is also timpanist for the Symphony New Brunswick.

 
Naomi Ford
flûte

.Naomi Ford is 17 years old, and is currently studying at the Curtis Institute of Music in Philadelphia with Jeffrey Khaner. Having played both piano and flute from an early age, Naomi has regularly participated in regional music festivals and summer programs across the country (including NYO Canada and Domaine Forget International Music and Dance Academy).

 

At the 2017 National Music Festival in Ottawa, she was placed 1st in the woodwind category and won the Grand Award Competition, becoming the first NB musician to win in over 20 years. Naomi is also frequently asked to perform around the province, including solo performances with Symphony New Brunswick and Jeunesse Musicales gala concerts and tours.

 

She is booked to play Mozart’s flute concerto with the Saskatoon Symphony Orchestra next April and is continuing her studies at the Curtis Institute where she is the Julius Baker Fellow. When not practicing or performing, she can be found enjoying the outdoors with archery and skiing as well as crocheting with a cup of chamomile tea.

Subscribe for updates

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

© 2019. Été musical de Barachois. All rights reserved.

ÉTÉ MUSICAL DE

BARACHOIS

SUMMER MUSIC

Au rythme du vent . . .
Les artistes
Michel Deschênes
percussions
 

M. Ed. B. Mus. Interprétation. Professeurr de percussions à l'Université de Moncton.

Né à Caraquet (NB), Michel Deschênes est un membre fondateur du quatuor de percussion Amerythme, fondé en 1989. 

Il a à son actif plusieurs enregistrements et a fait plusieurs tournées au Canada, en France, en Belgique et au Maroc. 

Michel est le plus récent récipiendaire du Prix du Lieutenant Gouverneur pour l'Orchestre des Jeunes du Nouveau-Brunswick. Il a été souvent vu et entendu à la télévision pour CBC (East Coast Music Awards), Radio-Canada et TV5. Il a joué sur plusieurs scènes majeures du Canada, dont le Festival International de Jazz de Montréal, la fête du Canada à Ottawa et au Festival d'été de Québec, pour n'en nommer que quelques-unes. Michel dirige l'Escola de Samba Acadia, un groupe de percussionnistes qui interprétant de la musique brésilienne de type Street Samba, étant également disponible pour des parades et autres événements spéciaux. L'un des plus récents projets de Michel est un trio appelé Sambucca avec la flûtiste Sally Wright et le guitariste Steven Peacock.

Jocelyn Blanchette
percussions
 

Le percussionniste Jocelyn Blanchette étudie en 4e année d'interprétation auprès de Michel Deschênes à l'Université de Moncton. Chef de la section percussions de l'Orchestre des jeunes du Nouveau-Brunswick, il a été lauréat du Concours de concerto de cet ensemble en 2016-2017, en plus d'être nommé "Artiste de l'année" au Gala Bleu et Or de l'Université de Moncton la même année. Il a participé aux Encuentros CDMX à Mexico, où il a travaillé en classe de maître avec le compositeur mexicain Arturo Marquez et le chef l'orchestre du Los Angeles Philharmonic, Gustavo Dudamel. L'été dernier, il était le seul canadien parmi les demi-finalistes d'un concours international à Melbourne en Australie. 

 
Nokomi Ouellet
percussions

Originaire du Lac Baker (NB), Nokomi Ouellet commença des cours de batterie à l'âge de 8 ans. Elle participa à plusieurs spectacles en tant que batteuse avant de s'inscrire au baccalauréat en percussions à l'Université de Moncton. Nokomi a aussi été percussionniste pour l'Orchestre philharmonique du Haut Saint-Jean pendant quelques années et fût ensuite percussionniste en chef de l'Orchestre des jeunes du Nouveau-Brunswick pour la saison 2015-2016. Elle participa à plusieurs projets, dont un des spectacles du Gala des Éloizes et la tournée des Jeunesses musicales du Nouveau-Brunswick l'an dernier. Finissante du baccalauréat en interprétation (percussions) de l'Université de Moncton, elle veut poursuivre ses études en didactique instrumentale à l'Université Laval.

 
Joel Cormier
percussions

Joel a débuté ses études à l'Université de Moncton, où il a terminé son Baccalauréat en musique. Ensuite, il a poursuivi ses études aà l'Université de Toronto, où il a obtenu sa Maîtrise et son Doctorat en musique.

Joel est un joueur orchestral expérimenté. Il a joué avec le Kingston Symphony, le Toronto Philharmonic Orchestra, le Brampton Symphony, l'Esprit Orchestra, et plus récemment, la Symphonie Nouveau-Brunswick et Tutta Musica. Il collabore aussi avec de nombreux projets de musique contemporaine et il aime surtout la musique expérimentale. 

Joel a lancé son premier CD de percussion solo "Les voiles blanches" en 2012. L'album comprend les pièces de deux compositeurs du Nouveau-Brunswick: Richard Gibson et Christian Hébert. 

M. Cormier enseigne actuellement les percussions à Mount Allison. En plus, il est le timbalier pour la Symphonie Nouveau-Brunswick.
 

 
Naomi Ford
flûte

Noaomi Ford, 17 ans, étudie présentement au Curtis Institute of Music à Philadelphie sous la tutelle de Jeffrey Khaner. Elle a étudié le piano et la flûte dès son très jeune âge et a participé à plusieurs festivals de musique régionaux et à des programmes d'été partout au pays, notamment le NYO Canada et le Domaine Forget, ainsi que le Dance Academy. 

En 2017, elle remporta le premier prix dans la catégorie des vents ainsi que le Grand Award Competition au National Music Festival à Ottawa, devenant ainsi la première musicienne du Nouveau-Brunswick à y gagner dans les vingt dernières années.Naomi joue fréquemment dans plusieurs concerts partout dans la province, dont des concerts en tant que soliste avec le Symphony New Brunswick et le gala et les tournées des Jeunesses Musicales.

 

En avril prochain, elle interprétera le Concerto de flûte de Mozart avec le Saskatoon Symphony Orchestra et elle poursuit ses études au Curtis Institute, où elle est récipiendaire du Julius Baker Fellowship. 

 

Autre que la musique, Naomi apprécie les activités extérieures, telles que le tir à l'arc et le ski, ainsi que crocheter avec en sirotant une bonne tasse de thé à la chamomile!  
 

Inscription infolettre 

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

© 2019. Été musical de Barachois. Tous droits réservés.